Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

Office of Research Integrity and Compliance Staff

General Administration

Mary Neely
Office Manager
mary.neely@mail.wvu.edu | 304-293-6094
Responsibilities:
Primary Contact / Accounting

Human Subject Research

Gretchen McMasters, MBA, CIP, CIM, CHRC, LSSBB
Director, Office of Human Research Protections
gretchen.mcmasters@mail.wvu.edu |  (304)2937555 

Rosemary Casteel, MIS, CISA
Continuous Improvement Manager
rrcasteel@mail.wvu.edu | (304) 293-5816

Sarah Stutler, MBA, CCRP, CIP, CIM
Senior IRB Coordinator
sarah.stutler@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-1119
Responsibilities:
Full Board / Research Related Events / UPIRTSOs / Emergency Use / IAAs / CIRBs / HUDs / Prep to Research / Requests / QIPs

Valerie Phillips, MA, CCRP
IRB Administrator
vphillip@mail.wvu.edu | (304) 293-3497
Responsibilities:
Expedited / NHSR / Flex / IAAs / Notify IRBs

Joe Malcolm, CCRP
IRB Administrator
joseph.malcolm@mail.wvu.edu | (304) 293-8246
Responsibilities:
NHSR / Flex / Data Use Agreements (DUAs)

Melissa Himes, MPH, CCRP
IRB Administrator
melissa.himes@mail.wvu.edu | (304) 293-5971
Responsibilities:
NHSR / Flex / Tissue and Data Repositories

Lilo Ast, M.A. 
IRB Administrator Temp
lilo.ast@mail.wvu.edu
Responsibilities:
Exempt Reviews / NHSR / CIRBs / QIPs

Animal Welfare Program

Deyanira Santiago, MBA, RLATg 
Director, Office of Animal Welfare
disantiago@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-5791

Lauren Burhans, Ph.D.
IACUC Administrator
lburhans@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-9368
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Mary Herald
IACUC Coordinator
mherald@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-1050
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Amanda N. Knutsen, RVT, RLATG 
Post Approval Monitoring (PAM) Administrator 
aknutsen@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-5923
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Courtney Cecil, RVT, RLAT 
Post Approval Monitoring (PAM) Administrator 
cjcecil@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-4919
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Paula Zaharko
Administrative Assistant 
paula.zaharko@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-7073
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Conflict of Interest in Research

Joy Edwards 
Director, Conflict of Interest in Research
Joy.Edwards@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-5475
Responsibilities:
Conflict of Interest in Research (COIR)