Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

Office of Research Integrity and Compliance Staff

General Administration

Mary Neely
Office Manager
mary.neely@mail.wvu.edu | 304-293-6094
Responsibilities:
Accounting 

Human Subject Research

Gretchen McMasters, MBA, CIP, CIM, CHRC, LSSBB
Director, Office of Human Research Protections
gretchen.mcmasters@mail.wvu.edu |  (304)293-7555 

Rosemary Casteel
Continuous Improvement Manager
rrcasteel@mail.wvu.edu | 304-293-5816
Responsibilities:
Website / WVU+kc / SOPs / Forms / OHRP Information Mgmt / Project Management


Valerie Phillips, MA, CCRP
IRB Administrator
vphillip@mail.wvu.edu 

Responsibilities:
Blue IRB, Full Board / IAAs / Notify IRBs / Research Events / QIPS / Genetics / Emergency Use / CIRB / HUDs

Joe Malcolm, CCRP
IRB Administrator
joseph.malcolm@mail.wvu.edu 
Responsibilities:
NHSR / Flex / Data Use Agreements (DUAs) / IAA's/Research Events

Melissa Himes, MPH, CCRP
IRB Administrator
melissa.himes@mail.wvu.edu 
Responsibilities:
Gold IRB / Full Board / Tissue and Data Repositories

Lilo Ast, M.A. 
IRB Administrator Temp
lilo.ast@mail.wvu.edu
Responsibilities:
Expedited Reviews / Exempt Reviews / NHSR / QIPs

Animal Welfare Program

Anthony Munn, CPIA, CMAR
Director, Office of Animal Welfare
anthony.munn@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-5791

Lauren Burhans, Ph.D.
IACUC Administrator
lburhans@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-9368
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Mary Herald
IACUC Coordinator
mherald@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-1050
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Amanda N. Knutsen, RVT, RLATG 
Post Approval Monitoring (PAM) Administrator 
aknutsen@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-5923
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Courtney Cecil, RVT, RLAT 
Post Approval Monitoring (PAM) Administrator 
cjcecil@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-4919
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Paula Zaharko
Administrative Assistant 
paula.zaharko@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-7073
Responsibilities:
IACUC Support

Conflict of Interest in Research

Joy Edwards 
Director, Conflict of Interest in Research
Joy.Edwards@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-5475
Responsibilities:
Conflict of Interest in Research (COIR)

Research Integrity and Responsible Conduct of Research

Trisha Phillips, PhD. 
Interim Director of Research Integrity
Trisha.phillips@mail.wvu.edu |  (304) 293-0389
Responsibilities:
Climate Assessment, Educational Programming, RCR Training